Tag: Awards

- Advertisement -

Halpin Award goes to Kaminsky

ASCE has honored Jessica Kaminsky, Ph.D., A.M.ASCE, with the 2021 Daniel W. Halpin Award for Scholarship in Construction for her outstanding scholarship in construction engineering and management, through groundbreaking research in the pursuit of equity for vulnerable populations around the globe via the construction of socially sustainable civil infrastructure.

Clemmens picked for Hydraulic Structures Medal

ASCE has honored Albert Clemmens, Ph.D., P.E., D.WRE, M.ASCE, with the 2021 Hydraulic Structures Medal for advancing the science and engineering of flow measurement for irrigation.

Pitt honored with 2021 Hinds Award

ASCE has honored Robert E. Pitt, Ph.D., P.E., D.WRE, M.ASCE, with the 2021 Julian Hinds Award for his tireless endeavors in the field of water resources engineering and urban water resources research. Contributions include WinSLAMM (an urban stormwater quality model), implementation of green stormwater infrastructure, ASCE/EWRI activities, and development of the next generation of water resources professionals.

ASCE honors writing team with Hering Medal

ASCE has honored Boya Wang; Rosa Krajmalnik-Brown; Chen Zhou; Yihao Luo; Bruce E. Rittmann, Ph.D., Dist.M.ASCE, NAE, and Youneng Tang with the 2021 Rudolph Hering Medal for the paper “Modeling Trichloroethene Reduction, Methanogenesis, and Homoacetogenesis in a H2-Based Biofilm,” published in the February 2020 issue of Journal of Environmental Engineering.

2021 Petersen Award goes to Tansel

ASCE has honored Berrin Tansel, Ph.D., P.E., BCEE, D.WRE, F.EWRI, F.ASCE,with the 2021 Margaret S. Petersen Award for her exemplary leadership and intellectual generosity for professional advancement of women, and outstanding contributions for pioneering research in water conservation, coastal water quality improvement, and concentrate management.

Diplas receives Hunter Rouse Award

ASCE has honored Panayiotis Diplas, Ph.D., P.E., F.EWRI, F.ASCE, with the 2021 Hunter Rouse Hydraulic Engineering Award for fundamental contributions to the role of turbulence in sediment transport, ecohydraulics, stream restoration, and scour.

Team of 4 for J.C. Stevens Award

ASCE has honored Qingzhi Hou, Shunda Li, Arris S. Tijsseling, and Janek Laanearu with the 2021 J.C. Stevens Award for their discussion of “Rigid Water Column Model for Simulating the Emptying Process in a Pipeline Using Pressurized Air,” in the Journal of Hydraulic Engineering, March 2020.

Cuenca selected for Tipton Award

ASCE has honored Richard H. Cuenca, Ph.D., P.E., M.ASCE, with the 2021 Royce J. Tipton Award for significant contributions to irrigation engineering.

Kuczera newest Ven Te Chow awardee

ASCE has honored George Kuczera, Ph.D., with the 2021 Ven Te Chow Award for exemplary mentoring and leadership, both in teaching and research, in hydrology and hydrologic and water resources engineering – particularly in hydrologic modeling by addressing model, parameter, and data error structures – and for leadership in the practicing hydrologic engineering profession.

Arid Lands Hydraulic Engineering Award to Moradkhani

ASCE has honored Hamid Moradkhani, Ph.D., P.E., D.WRE, F.EWRI, F.ASCE, with the 2021 Arid Lands Hydraulic Engineering Award for numerous groundbreaking contributions in data assimilation as well as drought and water scarcity studies in arid and semiarid regions.